EVC-15 logo

Scientific Programme and Timetable

Every day of the conference will open with a plenary lecture being presented by:

Ludvik Martinu, Dept. Engineering Physics, Ecole Polytechnique Montreal, CA:

"Progress in optical coatings: From passive interference filters and multifunctional systems towards smart meta-structures - Change of paradigm?"

Christian Teichert, Institute of Physics, Montanuniversität Leoben, AT:

“The fascinating world of organic nanocrystals on 2D materials”

Maria-Carmen Asensio, Synchrotron SOLEIL, Université Paris -Saclay, FR:

"Chemical and electronic imaging of energy and electronics materials important for basic science and industrial applications”

Kai Nordlund, Dept. of Physics, Helsinki University, FI:

“Fundamental mechanisms of accelerated and plasma ion interactions with materials: insights from atomistic simulations”

Philippe Walter, LAMS, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, FR:

“Artistic paintings: chemical characterization of painting surfaces and pigment nanostructures”

The technical sessions of the Scientific Programme are grouped according to the topics of the IUVSTA Divisions, with an additional special session on “Vacuum in Accelerators”. The invited speakers in these sessions are:

Pure and Applied Surface Science

Maya Kiskinova, Trieste, IT:

”Microscopic insights on properties of morphologically complex materials using advanced synchrotron-based methods”

Pascal Ruffieux, Dübendorf, CH:

”Bottom-up fabrication of atomically precise graphene nanoribbons”


Uros Cvelbar, Ljubljana, SI:

“Plasma-inspired biomaterials”

Electronic Materials and Processing

Oliver Ambacher, Freiburg, DE:

“ScAlN: A novel piezoelectric material”

Nanometer Structures

Lars Montelius, Braga, PT:

“Nanotechnology the next decade: A Key Enabler for Disruptive Innovations”

Plasma Science and Technology

Daniel Lundin, Orsay, FR:

“Key Features of Reactive High Power Impulse Magnetron Sputtering”

Thin Films and Surface Engineering

Asim Aijaz, Uppsala, SE:

“Functional Metal-Oxide and Diamond-like Carbon Thin Films using Standard and High Power Impulse Magnetron Sputtering”

Philippe Djemia, Paris, FR:

“Specific features of thin film metallic glasses and their elastic properties relationship”

Vacuum Science and Technology

Irina Graur Martin, Marseille, FR:

"Advancement in transient flow simulation: application to measurements of porous media permeability and tube conductance”

Vacuum in Accelerators

Carmine Maletta, Arcavacata di Rende, IT:

“Shape memory alloy technologies for ultra-high vacuum coupling in particle accelerators”

A special session on Monday afternoon will be devoted to the 60th anniversary of IUVSTA, with plenary lectures presented by:

Joe Greene, U. of Illinois (US), Linköping University (SE),Taiwan Tech (TW):

“The 14-billion Year History of the Universe Leading to Modern Materials Science”

Anne L’Huillier, Lund University (SE):

“Exploring Matter at Ultrashort Time Scales”

Cristoforo Benvenuti, CERN (CH):

“Getter pumping for particle accelerators”

Claude Nicollier, ESA (CH):

“Working in vacuum - Extravehicular Activities around the ISS”


Schweizerische Vakuumgesellschaft (Société Suisse du Vide) (Swiss Vacuum Society)
c/o Pfeiffer Vacuum (Schweiz) AG, Förrlibuckstrasse 30, 8005 Zürich

CANCELLATION of registration:

In case of cancellation of a registration, all or part of the fees will be reimbursed under following conditions:

  • 100% will be reimbursed if cancellation is notified before February 28, 2018;
  • 50% will be reimbursed if cancellation is notified before May 20, 2018;
  • No reimbursement will be made if cancellation is notified after May 20, 2018.

All refunds requests must be in writing by mail to the Conference Secretary (conference@evc15.org) as soon as possible.

In case of "no-show" at the Conference, no claims for reimbursement will be accepted

Withdrawal of contributions should be announced as soon as possible to the Scientific Committee (scientific@evc15.org). There are no financial aspects associated with contributions. But contributors must have registered and paid their fees to be allowed to present their work.

Schweizerische Vakuumgesellschaft (Société Suisse du Vide) (Swiss Vacuum Society)
c/o Pfeiffer Vacuum (Schweiz) AG, Förrlibuckstrasse 30, 8005 Zürich